Log in

Introducing our two incoming ASRL Vice Presidents

ASRL Vice Presidents 2021

The Australian Surf Rowers League would like to introduce two incoming ASRL Vice Presidents. The incoming members replace Don Cotterill (did not re-elect) and Nick Sampson (moved into President role).

GRANT HOWE (Tasmania) - One Year Term
Father of 4
President of Surf Boat Rowers Tasmania.
Managing Director Zenith Wealth, Financial Adviser, Business Coach and Key Note Speaker
Podcast Host “Get the Know Howe””
Member of the Penguin Surf Life Saving Club in North West Tasmania

Grant commenced rowing as a Junior in 1989, concluding his rowing in 2006.

After a significant period of time away from Surf Life Saving, he re-joined at Penguin in 2019 to row for general fun and fitness.

"I was a little taken back at how much participation and standard had declined therefore deciding to give back to the sport that had previously given so much to me during my younger years. I drove the reformation of Surf Boat Rowers Tasmania, and with a very passionate team, we have built a three year plan to rebuild the sport here in Tasmania, which we have already made significant inroads during the season just finished."

Grant's business experience and surf boat passion will ensure he is an outstanding Vice President for your ASRL.

PHIL CHIPMAN (Queensland) - Two Year Term

With over 30 years of engineering and project management experience Phil Chipman is currently the Technical Director of GoldlinQ who supervise the design, construction and operation of the Gold Coast Light Rail.

Prior to this appointment Phil held various senior appointments in major water infrastructure projects and associated road and community infrastructure projects in Queensland. Phil started his career in the Australian Army as an officer in the Royal Australian Engineers.

Phil was President of the Mermaid Beach AEME Surf Life Saving Club from July 2011 until July 2017 and was made a Life Member of the club in 2015. He has held the appointments of Boat Captain at Mermaid Beach for 12 years, Surf Sports Director for two years and Secretary. Under Phil’s presidency the Mermaid Beach SLSC won Queensland Surf Life Saving Club of the Year consecutively in 2013-14 and 2014-15 and Australian Surf Life Saving Club of the Year 2014-15. Phil was also the President of South Coast Branch of Surf Life Saving Queensland where he represented the 12 surf clubs in the northern Gold Coast and Southern Moreton Bay area over the period July 2015- July 2017. As such was a member of the Queensland State Lifesaving Council over this period.

Phil gained his Bronze in January 1990 at Southport (Queensland) and has also been a member of Arcadian SLSC (Townsville).

Phil has rowed surf boats since gaining his Bronze in 1990 and been sweeping since coming to Mermaid in 1999. He is currently stroke of the Mermaid Mayhem 200 masters crew who won Queensland and Australian Gold medals at the 2021 championships. Prior to this he had previously won one Gold and one Silver Australian medal in masters competition plus numerous State medals.

Phil brings a wealth of experience in surf boat rowing, sweeping and surf life saving governance to the ASRL Committee.

Nick Sampson (President)
Natasha Tunney (Secretary)
Rory Gillespie (Treasurer)
Edwina Wright (Vice President)
Geoff Wilson (Vice President)
Grant Howe (Vice President)
Grant Wilkinson (Vice President)
Phil Chipman (Vice President)
Rod Costa (Vice President)

Share Us...

Submit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn

Subscribe to our Mailing List!

Search our Site